Zambian Government

The Zambian government is headed by an elected president who serves for a five year-term. Zambia became independent on 24th October 1964.

The Current Zambian Government

Edgar Chagwa LunguPresident Edgar Chagwa Lungu

Currently the incumbent president is Edgar C. Lungu. (Check for the Zambian Political Landscape Here).

Edgar C. Lungu assumed office for the second and last term as the sixth President of Zambia on 13th September 2016. The president and his Vice, Inonge Wina were sworn in at the National Heroes Stadium in Lusaka on the same date.

Capital City

The capital city of Zambia is Lusaka.


The country is divided into 10 (ten provinces): Lusaka, Copperbelt, North-Western, Eastern, Southern, Luapula, Northern, Central, Western and Muchinga. These are administered by appointed deputy ministers. Further more, the provinces are also subdivided into 72 districts.

The structure of the Zambian government consists of three organs, i.e. the Executive, the Legislature and the Judiciary operating autonomously...  


One arm of the executive branch in the Zambian government is the cabinet which is appointed by the president from among the National Assembly.

Here is a list of cabinet ministers as well as their deputy ministers:

Office of the Vice President

  1. Cabinet Minister – Inonge Wina

Presidential Affairs At State House

  1. Cabinet Minister –  Freedom Sikazwe 

Office of The Vice President

  1. Cabinet Minister – Sylvia Chalikosa 

Ministry of Justice

  1. Cabinet Minister – Given Lubinda 

Ministry of Defence

  1. Cabinet Minister – Davies Chama

Ministry of Finance

  1. Cabinet Minister – Felix Mutati 

Ministry of Home Affairs

  1. Cabinet Minister – Stephen Kampyongo

Ministry of Health

  1. Cabinet Minister – Dr. Chitalu Chilufya 

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

  1. Cabinet Minister – Harry Kalaba 

Ministry of Agriculture 

  1. Cabinet Minister – Dora Siliya

Ministry of Livestock And Fisheries

  1. Cabinet Minister – Michael Katambo

Ministry of Youth, Sports and Child Development

  1. Cabinet Minister – Moses Mawere 

Ministry of Commerce, Trade and Industry

  1. Cabinet Minister – Margaret Mwanakatwe 

Ministry of Energy and Water Development

  1. Cabinet Minister – David Mabumba

Ministry of Mines and Mineral Development

  1. Cabinet Minister – Christopher Bwalya Yaluma

Ministry of Information And Broadcasting

  1. Cabinet Minister – Kampamba Mulenga

Ministry of General Education

  1. Cabinet Minister - Dr. Dennis Musuku Wachinga

Ministry of Higher Education

  1. Cabinet Minister – Nkandu Luo 

Ministry of Water Development, Sanitation and Environmental Protection

  1. Cabinet Minister – Lloyd Kaziya 

Ministry of Lands, Environment and Natural Resources

  1. Cabinet Minister – Jean Kapata

Ministry of Housing And Infrastructure Development

  1. Cabinet Minister – Ronald Chitotela 

Ministry of Local Government and Housing

  1. Cabinet Minister – Vincent Mwale

Ministry of Community Development And Social Welfare

  1. Cabinet Minister – Emerine Kabanshi 

Ministry of Chiefs and Traditional Affairs

  1. Cabinet Minister – Lawrence John Sichalwe 

Ministry of Transport And Communication

  1. Cabinet Minister –  Brian Mushimba

Ministry of Works And Supply

  1. Cabinet Minister – Matthew Nkhuwa

Ministry of Tourism and Arts

  1. Cabinet Minister – Charles Romel Banda

Ministry of Labour and Social Security

  1. Cabinet Minister – Joyce Nonde Simukoko 

Ministry of Gender and Child Development

  1. Cabinet Minister – Victoria Kalima

Ministry of National Development Planning

  1. Cabinet Minister –  Lucky Mulusa

Ministry of National Guidance and Religious Affairs

  1. Cabinet Minister –  Reverend Godfridar Sumaile

Provincial Ministers

  1. Central – Sydney Mushanga
  2. Southern  – Edify Hamukale
  3. Copperbelt – Bowman Lusambo
  4. Luapula – Nixon Chilangwa
  5. Eastern –  Makebi Zulu
  6. Lusaka – Japhen Mwakalombe
  7. Northern  – Brian Mundubile
  8. North-Western  – Richard Kapita
  9. Western – Nathaniel Munukwanu
  10. Muchinga – Malozo Sichone


The final court of appeal is the Supreme Court. Justices are appointed by the president.

The subordinate courts are the high court, magistrate's court and local courts.

Legal System

The legal system is based on English common law and customary law.


Universal adult.


The Zambian government has a unicameral National Assembly, comprising of 158 seats. 8 members are appointed by the president

and 150 are elected by popular vote. They serve for 5 years.

Political Parties 

The ruling political party at the moment is the Patriotic Front (PF).

Other opposition political parties worth reckoning are: Movement for Multiparty Democracy (MMD), headed by Nevers Mumba, Forum for Democracy and Development (FDD), headed by Edith Nawakwi,

United Party for National Development (UPND) headed by Hakainde Hichilema, and United National Independence party ( UNIP), headed by Tilyenji  Kaunda. 

Indeed, Zambia being a multi-party democracy, there several other small parties which have jumped onto the band wagon!

Great Articles You Might Have Missed!

Check Availability of Accommodation And Rates Below

New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave me a comment in the box below.

Recent Posts

  1. An International Home Based Business in Over 190 Countries, Including Zambia!

    An international home based business with SFI (Strong Future International), the number 1 in the top 10 affiliate programs in the world!

    Read More

  2. Chaminuka Lodge - Designed In The Style of A Zambian Village

    Chaminuka Lodge offers luxurious accommodation, spectacular views over Lake Chitoka where you can behold the most glorious sunsets of Africa.

    Read More

  3. Thorntree River Lodge

    Thorntree River Lodge offers excellent game viewing opportunities and adventure activities. The lodge is located inside the Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park.

    Read More

  1. Home
  2.  ›
  3. Zambia Facts
  4.  ›
  5. Government